Locals Honored as 'Teachers of the Year'

Sharon Brikovich-Pipkins, Pamela Fobert and Jennifer Achten are local honorees.


The Alameda County Office of Education announces this year's winners of the celebrated Teacher of the Year Awards for each school district in the county.

Three local teachers are among those being honored. They are:

* Castro Valley USD: Sharon Brikovich-Pipkins, Palomares Elementary School
San Leandro USD: Jennifer Achten, John Muir Middle School
* San Lorenzo USD: Pamela Fobert, Corvallis Elementary School

The district winners will be honored and recognized for their achievements during an award ceremony on October 4, 2012 at the Castro Valley Center for the Arts.

The Alameda County Teacher of the Year winner, and candidate for the state nomination, will also be announced during the event.

"I congratulate the 2012 honorees for their exceptional performance and work ethic," said Sheila Jordan, Superintendent of Alameda County Schools. 

This year's theme "Awakening the Magic Within" celebrates the inner resources that teachers call upon to engage the diverse learning needs of our children.
This is the 23rd year that the Alameda County Office of Education recognizes and celebrates teachers throughout Alameda County for their excellence in classroom instruction. The honor and significance of the award will be throughout the 2012/2013 school year.

Do you remember one teacher from your youth? Who was it and why?


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »