.

POLL: Chain Restaurants Coming to San Lorenzo

Take our poll to see how your opinion falls against others in the community.

This past week, Golden Corral, a family-friendly, buffet-style chain restaurant was recently announced as the .

Also, .

Patch is now turning to you to see how you feel about these chain restaurants coming to town.

Take our poll below and see how your opinion falls against others in the community.

Kenneth September 17, 2011 at 10:27 PM
I think it's horrible that they keep putting in these fast food places.....why not something like Sweet Tomato, or Cheesecake Factory, or California Pizza Kitchen, or ....you know the list goes on and on. I think the new Taco Bell on Hesperian was and is a waste of space!!!
Thomas Clarke September 17, 2011 at 11:28 PM
The real problem is not just fast food. The problem is that these are all foreign franchises. We need locally owned, locally staffed, locally supplied businesses. If our elected representatives actually cared about the community, they would insist on adopting and supporting a zero tolerance policy for franchises. They would insist upon a planning directive that required locally owned and locally staffed businesses of all kinds that are sourced by local products. Period. No more support for non-California resources.
Keith Barros September 18, 2011 at 12:03 AM
I hear that this new Taco Bell opening means the one on Lewelling and Via Granada will close. If so, I wonder what will go in there. Analisa, please investigate that.
E Valle September 18, 2011 at 04:23 PM
Not surprised. As I said in previous public forums I wouldn't be surprised if it was another JJ Norths or Hometown buffet. If this is all SLZ can attract it's a shame. More salt based, preservative fast food for a cheap (?) price. Like I said not surprised but disappointed.
Analisa Harangozo (Editor) September 18, 2011 at 04:25 PM
Keith, I spoke with the general manager about this. She said as of now, there are no talk about closing that Taco Bell down.
Doug September 18, 2011 at 04:35 PM
I was surprised that taco bell went there. I was expecting longjohn silvers. They have been advertising alot around here, just like golden Corral was. Don't forget five guys is also opening. Near target, and also fresh and easy.
Analisa Harangozo (Editor) September 18, 2011 at 04:43 PM
Doug, is that the target on Hesperian Blvd. or the one in Bayfair? Where'd you hear this from? Where would Fresh and Easy be opening up at?
Lisa Dones September 18, 2011 at 05:11 PM
Well the businesses may not be exactly what many people hoped for, I sm thrilled to see progress in rebuilding our community. Having anything go into the mervyns lot can only help attract other businesses to come on board. As for the new Taco Bell I am disappointed that Bakers Squate couldn't have been replaced with a similar type of eatery. SLZ has to start with something or we will continue to have nothing.
Analisa Harangozo (Editor) September 18, 2011 at 05:17 PM
I just want to thank everyone for contributing your opinions... some great points being made across the board.
Keith Barros September 18, 2011 at 06:56 PM
Analisa- You talked to the manager of which Taco Bell? Someone at the Lewelling Taco Bell told me that they would be closing it. Besides these two Taco Bells, there is one on Hesperian at Bockman and another one on Hesperian between the new one and East 14th Street.
Analisa Harangozo (Editor) September 18, 2011 at 07:00 PM
The one that just opened. She said it's owned by the same franchise owners of the one on Lewelling and Via Granada and they don't plan on closing down because of this one opening so close by.
Rachel September 18, 2011 at 09:50 PM
I am disappointed, but not surprised, that San Lorenzo hasn't drawn any higher quality eating establishments. I have lived in SLZ for over a decade and the only restaurants I ever patronize here are Frodo Joe's and Sam's. It's sad that greasy, fatty and salty are all we have. I'm not specifically opposed to chains, some can be okay, but I'm opposed to all this fast food and unhealthy volume.
Rachel September 18, 2011 at 09:53 PM
Analisa, They are both opening in the Target shopping center on Hesperian/A Street. Both the 5 guys and the Fresh and easy are due to open within the next month... signage is up, stores are being prepped.
Doug September 18, 2011 at 10:02 PM
Fresh and Easy will open at the Hesperian Target location later this month, Five Guys will open soon after in the same location. The signs are all ready up on the buildings.
Mario C September 18, 2011 at 10:15 PM
Let's see. We have Popeye's,kfc,Wendy's,jack in the box,taco bell and now golden corral all on Hesperian...I Agree that something is better than mothing at the old mervyns site. But Golden corral buffet??
Lisa McDonald September 18, 2011 at 10:59 PM
I agree with all said prior, it's great that we may have something to finally occupy the old Mervyn's site after what 20 years!? But really can't we please have something better than a Golden Corral!? To me it's just another way to bring down our community. I doubt I'll ever eat there which means again taking my money and business to yet another town. Why doesn't anyone else want to come to San Lorenzo? Or are the Bohannon's only trying to bring our town down even further, sadly enough it may be time to move :(
Keith Barros September 18, 2011 at 11:24 PM
No, it's not time to move. As I mentioned in the Golden Corral story, there is another nicer sit-down type restaurant that is interested in locating in the old Mervyns area. They like locations like this that have (or are getting) another restaurant adjacent to it. Read the Golden Corral story and its comments.
snickerdoodle1 September 19, 2011 at 01:04 AM
Let me get this straight. Analisa is the editor of this site that's supposed to be all about San Lorenzo but, has no idea where the Fresh & Easy is going in or the Five Guys. Analisa, have you ever been to San Lorenzo?
Analisa Harangozo (Editor) September 19, 2011 at 01:08 AM
Snickerdoodle, I am aware of that area..which technically is considered Hayward, not San Lorenzo. I do remember seeing the Fresh and Easy construction a few months back, but not the Five Guys.
snickerdoodle1 September 19, 2011 at 01:11 AM
Keith, I sure hope you're right. I was so excited to hear of a restaurant coming but, was so disappointed that it was Golden Corral. There are already 2 Hometown Buffets close by. We don't need another of that type of restaurant. It's hard to imagine that there aren't many restaurants interested in serving a restaurant starved community. I wonder what restriction the Bohannon group has put on their lproperties and what exactly their agenda is.
snickerdoodle1 September 19, 2011 at 01:12 AM
Given that it's pretty much the closest thing we have to retail in San Lorenzo, I guess we've adopted it.
Analisa Harangozo (Editor) September 19, 2011 at 01:25 AM
True and I will definitely keep my eye on that area more so now than ever considering the high interest in this topic.
D. Hamilton September 19, 2011 at 03:15 AM
Seems like San Lorenzo is really losing it's quaint charm where places like Ye Olde Pizza Joynt (ok, yes, I know, technically it's Hayward), the stores that use to be in the old Mervyn's area, stores that use to be in the shopping center near Arroyo (I remember an ice cream shop, a dance studio and more), and especially the shops on Grant (Dave's Market, the pharmacy next door, thrift store across the street, and Anna's Cafe). Now it seems like it's all just Starbucks, fast food (what are we teaching kids..."hey, eat healthy & dont eat junk...but we'll accept one or two on every corner in our town), and just junk! San Lorenzo isn't a town of junk, but it sure does seem to look that way with some of the places we are seeing pop up. A nice sit down restaurant would be great somewhere in San Lorenzo - and not a cheap buffet like there are so close by. If it has to be another fast food place, how about Long John Silvers or even a Fazzoli's (drive through Italian for those that haven't heard of it - it's back East). Something different. I'm glad to see a new sit down place to eat next to Lucky's on Hesperian and would love to see more locations like it. Where is any cultural things around the city - book stores (they do still exist), a place where local artists/authors/photographers can display and sell their works, a place where local musicians can perform (not a bar)? I know the town can use funds from businesses here, but my money will go to Sam's or Frodo Joe's
LESLIE FERNANDES September 22, 2011 at 07:03 PM
San Lorenzo has become a ghost town. I've lived here for most of my life and what's going on here is disgusting and nobody that has any power seems to care. Once Mervyn's left there was a downward spiral that continues today. The latest to leave was S&N Video on Hesperian, what will be next? Our community had the charm of a downtown Livermore or Pleasanton, not any longer. When I was little we would line up to see Santa arrive in the Mervyn's parking lot and then sit in his lap in the window at Mervyn's, those were the good old day. The Lorenzo Theater was open and the downtown area was always busy. Yes, there are new businesses going in "around" San Lorenzo but not in SLZ. Fresh and Easy is in Hayward as is the new site for 5 Guys, the new Taco Bell is in San Leandro. As a citizen of San Lorenzo, I would really love to see a Trader Joe's go in and perhaps a few speciality shops including a independent restaurant, not another chain. We sure don't need another 7-11 as was proposed for Bockman Road. Speaking of Bockman Road what's happening with the vacant lot across from the new Town Houses? Lucky people there get to stare at a disgusting, weed filled empty lot that I am sure is driving down their home prices. Someone needs to start caring about our Village again before it truly does become a ghost town.
E Valle September 30, 2011 at 03:33 PM
D. I agreee!! Are we all falling under the "oh well if we can't beat them, join them" at the cost of never improving the village. For many years now we have lived with a vacant lot but I'll take it over selling out to the next unhealthy, fast food choice. Is this all about making money at no matter the cost or the future of slz development? How about a soccer field, in-door or outside? Imagine the people a soccer field/sports type complex would attract? Family's needing meals maybe? People from many area's visiting and all it takes is one eatery make a name for itself. Reinvent slz, not easy but let's at least do our best to promote with in. How nice a park like setting to drive by. I find it interesting how many of my friends and family drive out of the village to do their grocery shopping. If Trader Joes passed us by I why? Was it because all they saw was a sad fading town stuck in the past? When friends and family say let's go out to dinner they don't say "oh boy let's go to Wendy's". It seems to me their are a multitude of slz residents who would support change but not at the cost of health for them or future generations. Frodo Joe's is the only place in slz still earning my money.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something